Joseph Biden

Senator Biden is another individual for whom I have respect. He has been in the Senate for over 30 years, and is a seasoned senator who is not afraid to speak his mind. Importantly, he works across party lines to accomplish cooperation and solidarity. Gentlemen’s Quarterly did a long article on him in March 2006. If you missed it, it is well worth taking the time to read. Or visit his senate web page for a shorter introduction and biography.

When researching more about Senator Biden I came across the quotes below which illustrate his frank thinking and speaking. I just had to include them here because of the candid nature reflected in his words. It is refreshing. He strikes me as someone who should consider running for President in 2008. The previous troubles he had in his 1987/88 bid for the Presidency (regarding accusations of plagiarism in law school and in several campaign speeches) do not bother me in the least. Syracuse University Law School, and the Delaware State Bar Association cleared him of the law school charges. And I don’t hold against him his carelessness in speeches of twenty years ago. We have had Presidents with more serious flaws and less experience. Mr. Biden has had time to learn from his mistakes, and is willing to admit them;  plus he now has twenty more years experience as a Senator.

“About six months ago, the president said to me, ‘Well, at least I make strong decisions, I lead.’ I said, ‘Mr. President, look behind you. Leaders have followers. No one’s following. Nobody.'” Rolling Stone magazine, June 2004

“You Europeans use George Bush’s excesses as an excuse for your own lack of commitment. You’ve been reluctant to do anything apart from criticize America—get over it.” reported on a blog, on the subject of the 2004 Davos conference in Switzerland

Talking about the Bush 2006 budget proposal to shut Amtrak and force it into bankruptcy, Senator Biden said “This is absolutely bizarre that we continue to subsidize highways beyond the gasoline tax, airlines…and we don’t want to subsidize a national rail system that has environmental impact….This is the ultimate in being penny-wise and a pound-foolish.” NBC News “Meet the Press” on February 27, 2005

“I was in the Oval Office the other day, and the President asked me what I would do about resignations. I said, ‘Look, Mr. President, would I keep Rumsfeld? Absolutely not.’ And I turned to Vice President Cheney, who was there, and I said, ‘Mr. Vice President, I wouldn’t keep you if it weren’t constitutionally required.’ I turned back to the President and said, ‘Mr. President, Dick Cheney and Don Rumsfeld are bright guys, really patriotic, but they’ve been dead wrong on every major piece of advice they’ve given you.That’s why I’d get rid of them, Mr. President—not just Abu Ghraib.’ They said nothing. Just sat there like big old bullfrogs on a log and looked at me.” Rolling Stone interview, June 2004 (Source: http://usliberals.about.com/ )

Leave a Reply

